Darling Words of May

May is not Spring here in Australia. For us here in the south of the continent, it’s usually the first cool month after several hot, hot, hot months, and it’s a time for us to recharge and revel in the rain and chilly mornings (until about mid-June, where we start to miss the sun again. Although I confess, I do love the cooler weather. Remind me of that, mid-June). So May means something different to us, than to those who live in the northern hemisphere.

However! I digress. Wherever you live, May is going to be fantastic, because I’ve just finished up a big project, and it will be June before I begin the next. Therefore, I thought I would try something new.

During May, I’m going to offer some short feedback options for those of you who need some help with your work, but don’t need it to be fully edited. I often get requests to help writers when they’ve not yet finished their manuscript, and because I’m busy, I almost always turn them down. But while structural editing and proofreading aren’t appropriate for an incomplete manuscript, sometimes you need fresh eyes, and a different perspective.

And right now, that’s what I’d like to help you with.

Over the next few weeks, I’m offering writers the opportunity to have their work appraised. Here’s what you can get:

5 pages (around 1250 words) = $20

10 pages (around 2500 words) = $35

OR

you can ask me to quote you on a chapter or short story of your choice (up to 5000 words).

For your money, I will send you at least one page of detailed feedback. If you have specific concerns, I can address them, otherwise this will be my impressions of the excerpt/short story, and my suggestions as to how to improve it. And if you’ve used a homophone or an inappropriate idiom at any point, I’ll make a note of that as well, because I can’t help myself.

Sound good? I reckon! But if you’re interested, you’ll need to get in fast — this offer is only available until 21st May, 2017. Just click on the email-button over there (or if you prefer, this link: postscriptediting@gmail.com) and get in touch! I look forward to reading your work.

About Rebecca Freeman

I'm an editor of fiction and non-fiction. I also write stories of my own, because then I can steal all the best bits of the work I edit. Uh... I mean, I find reading and editing other people's work really inspiring and interesting. Really, though. Being able to work with an author to help their work shine is such a privilege and a really fun experience. I'm so happy I get to do it. When not editing, I like to run, write, grub about in the dirt, and drink tea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

